The British Fantasy Society reviews EXILES OF KHO

http://www.amazon.com/Exiles-Kho-Christopher-Paul-Carey-ebook/dp/B00HX7LURA/

David Brzeski has reviewed my novella Exiles of Kho over at the British Fantasy Society website.
From the review:

Somehow, Christopher Paul Carey manages to perfectly meld the styles of Henry Rider Haggard, Edgar Rice Burroughs and Philip José Farmer. It almost seems as if those three authors were amalgamated into one. It’s very well-written, actually somewhat better than Burroughs might have managed. It invokes the period flavour of Haggard’s prose, yet without seeming in any way dated in style. I’m really not quite sure how Carey does it.

Read the entire review here.

The Pulp Super-Fan on the Khokarsa series

DAW Books edition, 1974 (Art by Krenkel)

Michael R. Brown has posted a comprehensive overview of the Khokarsa series over at The Pulp Super-Fan that I highly recommend. Check it out here.

On a related note, I recently noticed that prices of used copies of Gods of Opar: Tales of Lost Khokarsa have been quickly climbing. As I type this, the cheapest copies you’ll find on Amazon Marketplace are $99.99 and $100.57 for new and used copies respectively. For those who were never able to purchase a copy, I will point out that the first volume in the novel trilogy, Hadon of Ancient Opar, is in still print and readily available in an affordable paperback edition, as well as an ebook edition. Further, although the signed limited edition has long since sold out, my novella Exiles of Kho has recently been released in an ebook edition from Meteor House. This latter is a tale set eight hundred years before Hadon of Ancient Opar, and features the priestess-heroine Lupeoth as she sets out along the shores of ancient Khokarsa’s southern sea on a quest decreed by the oracle, where she encounters the mysterious Sahhindar, the Gray-Eyed Archer God of her people. For a complete Khokarsa series checklist with links where to purchase each installment, see here.

So will there ever be a trade or ebook reprint of Gods of Opar, or individual trade or ebook editions of Flight to Opar and The Song of Kwasin? I don’t as of yet know, but I certainly hope so and will do my best within my abilities to make it happen. The high prices for used editions of Gods of Opar certainly only makes the case for a trade reprint, I would think. Who knows? In the meantime, I can say that things are starting to budge in relation to new Khokarsa projects, which is something that excites me to no end. What form these will take is being hammered out now, and I will post details as soon as I am able.

SFcrowsnest on GODS OF OPAR

Sven Scheurer has reviewed Gods of Opar: Tales of Lost Khokarsa over at SFcrowsnest. Here’s a snippet:

Gods Of Opar: Tales Of Lost Khokarsa’ is pulp fantasy in the best sense of the words. A fast-paced entertaining adventure literature in the tradition of Edgar Rice Burroughs and Henry Rider Haggard. Christopher Paul Carey was obviously the right choice for finishing Farmer’s outline and writing the third novel, at least I wouldn’t have noticed the change in authors. The cycles’ African setting distinguishes it from its more traditional northern European brethren. This exotic ambience combined with vivid descriptions of the localities, people and beasts make the novels interesting and fun to read. Despite two of the books being written over thirty years ago, they actually show no sign of their age. A must read for every fan of pulp literature and for all readers interested in fantasy with a slight twist.

Read the complete review here.

The British Fantasy Society on Gods of Opar

David Brzeski has reviewed Gods of Opar: Tales of Lost Khokarsa for the British Fantasy Society website. Here’s an excerpt:

Indeed, one of the strengths of the entire series is that there are no clearly delineated good and evil sides. Many of the characters united in fighting the mad king Minruth actively despise each other. Farmer and Carey tell a realistically complex tale of a religious war in which whichever side ultimately wins, countless people lose and their world is left devastated.

Check out the review here.

Locus Online on Gods of Opar: Tales of Lost Khokarsa

Locus Online has posted a well-considered and perceptive review by Paul di Filippo of Gods of Opar: Tales of Lost Khokarsa. Here’s an excerpt from the review on The Song of Kwasin, the previously unpublished third novel in the Khokarsa cycle that I coauthored with Phil Farmer:

[T]he novel possesses an organic, unified feel, and a high level of storytelling craft. The legacy of the Khokarsa cycle is continued in honorable and entertaining fashion…

So readers who miss Farmer’s distinct voice and worldview can safely rejoice in this posthumous addition to his worldbuilding canon.

Read the full review online here.

Publishers Weekly review of Gods of Opar: Tales of Lost Khokarsa

The first review of Gods of Opar: Tales of Lost Khokarsa comes from Publishers Weekly. Here’s some of what they have to say about The Song of Kwasin, the concluding and previously unpublished novel of the trilogy:

True to its roots, the latest entry is fast-paced, often violent (Kwasin’s enormous battle-ax is a major character), and filled with pulp tropes. Fans of Farmer’s original series will appreciate this repackaging and enjoy the finale, both in tone and because of the closure it provides. Likewise, fans of Burroughs, H. Rider Haggard, and other pulp authors will find the entire collection an accessible and enjoyable throwback.

Read the complete review here.

I like how they say “and other pulp authors.” Do you think they perhaps found the nod I made to Manly Wade Wellman?

Green Man Review on The Other in the Mirror

Somehow I missed that back on December 13 (coincidentally “Wold Newton Day”) the Green Man Review posted a very favorable review by Robert M. Tilendis of The Other in the Mirror, the recent Philip José Farmer omnibus I edited. Here are some snippets:

The Other in the Mirror is the newest volume in Subterranean Press’ survey of the works of Philip José Farmer, edited by Christopher Paul Carey. It contains three short novels that contain some of Farmer’s most probing examinations of character.
Carey, in his Introduction, frames his discussion of these three novels within Hegel’s concept of the Other — that which is different than us — as a means of addressing Farmer’s approach. In Hegel’s sense, we achieve a state of self-aware freedom by coming to understand the Other and incorporating it within ourselves. In Farmer’s hands this becomes a multi-layered phenomenon as identity — a key element of this idea — moves from the individual to the group to the Other and back again.
But what Farmer is describing in these novels is not the realization of self, but the breakdown of the boundary between self and other…
…Philip José Farmer was throughout his career an iconoclast, tackling subjects within the framework of science fiction that other writers in the field avoided. (Remember, he’s the man who brought sex into science fiction — in 1952, when sex was seldom discussed publicly — even post-Kinsey.) In these three novels he’s done it again. And being by Farmer, of course, they are eminently readable, seductive and rewarding.

You can read the full review here and buy the book here. (Note, there are still a few signed–by Phil!–Lettered copies left.)