SFcrowsnest on GODS OF OPAR

Sven Scheurer has reviewed Gods of Opar: Tales of Lost Khokarsa over at SFcrowsnest. Here’s a snippet:

Gods Of Opar: Tales Of Lost Khokarsa’ is pulp fantasy in the best sense of the words. A fast-paced entertaining adventure literature in the tradition of Edgar Rice Burroughs and Henry Rider Haggard. Christopher Paul Carey was obviously the right choice for finishing Farmer’s outline and writing the third novel, at least I wouldn’t have noticed the change in authors. The cycles’ African setting distinguishes it from its more traditional northern European brethren. This exotic ambience combined with vivid descriptions of the localities, people and beasts make the novels interesting and fun to read. Despite two of the books being written over thirty years ago, they actually show no sign of their age. A must read for every fan of pulp literature and for all readers interested in fantasy with a slight twist.

Read the complete review here.

Subterranean Press down to last 50 copies of Gods of Opar

From the News/Recent Releases sidebar of the newly redesigned Subterranean Press website:

We’re already down to our last fifty copies of Gods of Opar, which collects two classic novels by Philip Jose Farmer, and a third completed from Farmer’s notes by Christopher Paul Carey. At 576 pages, it’s also a bargain, as Publishers Weekly noted: “Fans of Farmer’s original series will appreciate this repackaging and enjoy the finale, both in tone and because of the closure it provides. Likewise, fans of Burroughs, H. Rider Haggard, and other pulp authors will find the entire collection an accessible and enjoyable throwback.”

Trade Hardcover: $45

Gods of Opar has arrived!

It’s been almost seven years since Philip José Farmer and I first discussed the idea of completing The Song of Kwasin, the third novel in the Khokarsa series. Since that time, too many hurtles on the road to the novel’s publication have been jumped for me to even remember them all, and many were the days that I feared Kwasin’s story might go forever untold. But this morning the long-awaited day finally arrived and I received printed copies of the omnibus of all three novels in the series—Gods of Opar: Tales of Lost Khokarsa.

This massive tome is a Brobdingnagian thing of beauty thanks to Bob Eggleton’s fantastical apocalyptic dust jacket painting and the top-notch design folks at Desert Isle Designs and Subterranean Press. The trade edition clocks in at 576 pages, and the limited edition at a weighty 616 (a whole extra signature of bonus materials by PJF!). At last Phil’s epic trilogy of adventure and prehistory is complete, with the ending of the saga exactly as he told me he wanted it.

I’d like to take a moment to thank everyone who helped along the way to make this book become a reality—family, friends, colleagues, and professionals. But especially I’d like to thank the graciousness, kindness, and generosity of Phil and Bette Farmer. As I said in the book’s acknowledgments, I’ll always cherish the good times we had in Peoria.

Gods of Opar shipping from the publisher

Gods of Opar: Tales of Lost Khokarsa is now shipping from the publisher, so if you ordered the book directly from Subterranean Press, you’ll probably be getting your copy in the mail very soon. I’m already hearing reports of some folks receiving their copies, and I’m tracking my own copies as they move (ever so slowly!) through the post in my direction. It’ll be a little bit longer for the books to trickle down through the distribution system to third-party retailers like Amazon, but it’s not long now!

Gods of Opar Limited Edition over 85% sold out

Some good news! It looks like Gods of Opar: Tales of Lost Khokarsa is experiencing strong sales. The publisher, Subterranean Press, has posted the following on their website:

Philip Jose Farmer and Christopher Paul Carey’s Gods of Opar is the next book slated to land in our warehouse.

The limited edition, signed by Carey, which contains extensive background material on the omnibus, is over 85% sold out, and continuing to sell steadily. Preorders from our wholesale and large online retail accounts has been strong. If you’re of a mind to pick up a copy of either edition of this mammoth (576 pages) omnibus, now’s the time. 

Here’s a reminder of the extras–previously unpublished and gathered from Phil Farmer’s files–that are included in the limited edition.

Exclusive to the Limited Edition:

  • The Song of Kwasin Outline
  • The Khokarsan Language
  • Khokarsan Glossary
  • The Khokarsan Calendar
  • The Plants of Khokars

Gods of Opar: Tales of Lost Khokarsa is expected to ship in June.