How did Philip José Farmer pronounce the name “Hadon” from his Ancient Opar books?

Hugo- and Nebula-award-winning author Philip José Farmer created a highly detailed fictional language and pronunciation for his Khokarsa series (also referred to as the Ancient Opar series). In these two brief audio clips, Farmer demonstrates the pronunciation of “Hadon,” the protagonist of the novels Hadon of Ancient Opar (1974) and Flight to Opar (1976). This recording is from the Edgar Rice Burroughs Dum-Dum convention held on September 1, 1973 in Toronto, Ontario, Canada.

h: voiceless glottal fricative (expressed somewhat more strongly than in English h)

a: low central spread vowel (as in Spanish)

d: voiced dental stop

o: mid-back rounded vowel (as in Spanish)

n: voiced dental nasal

For a complete Khokarsa series checklist, see here.

The Pulp Super-Fan on the Khokarsa series

DAW Books edition, 1974 (Art by Krenkel)

Michael R. Brown has posted a comprehensive overview of the Khokarsa series over at The Pulp Super-Fan that I highly recommend. Check it out here.

On a related note, I recently noticed that prices of used copies of Gods of Opar: Tales of Lost Khokarsa have been quickly climbing. As I type this, the cheapest copies you’ll find on Amazon Marketplace are $99.99 and $100.57 for new and used copies respectively. For those who were never able to purchase a copy, I will point out that the first volume in the novel trilogy, Hadon of Ancient Opar, is in still print and readily available in an affordable paperback edition, as well as an ebook edition. Further, although the signed limited edition has long since sold out, my novella Exiles of Kho has recently been released in an ebook edition from Meteor House. This latter is a tale set eight hundred years before Hadon of Ancient Opar, and features the priestess-heroine Lupeoth as she sets out along the shores of ancient Khokarsa’s southern sea on a quest decreed by the oracle, where she encounters the mysterious Sahhindar, the Gray-Eyed Archer God of her people. For a complete Khokarsa series checklist with links where to purchase each installment, see here.

So will there ever be a trade or ebook reprint of Gods of Opar, or individual trade or ebook editions of Flight to Opar and The Song of Kwasin? I don’t as of yet know, but I certainly hope so and will do my best within my abilities to make it happen. The high prices for used editions of Gods of Opar certainly only makes the case for a trade reprint, I would think. Who knows? In the meantime, I can say that things are starting to budge in relation to new Khokarsa projects, which is something that excites me to no end. What form these will take is being hammered out now, and I will post details as soon as I am able.

EXILES OF KHO: Kindle edition now available!

Exiles of KhoI’m pleased to announce that my long-out-of-print novella Exiles of Kho has just been released in a Kindle ebook edition. The tale is part of Philip José Farmer’s Khokarsa cycle, and is set eight hundred years before Hadon of Ancient Opar.

Here’s the publisher’s synopsis of Exiles of Kho:

Hundreds of years before the hero Hadon sailed forth from his shining city of gold and jewels upon his legendary adventures, the heroine-priestess Lupoeth set out upon the decree of the oracle to discover a new land upon the untamed shores of ancient Africa’s southern sea. But Lupoeth finds herself little prepared for the trials ahead, as well as those that follow upon her heels—for the jealous queen who wants her rival banished has appointed a worshiper of the sun god with a criminal past as the expedition’s priest, hoping to undermine the mission and seal its doom.

Now, lost in the deep jungle, Lupoeth must fight to keep her ill-equipped band of followers alive in the face of deadly beasts, savage Neanderthals, and conspiring enemies. Soon she finds the most accursed deity of her people’s faith, exiled from the empire by the Great Goddess Kho Herself, may be her only ally in this wild land. But Sahhindar, the god of Time and bronze, has a mysterious agenda of his own—one that Lupoeth fears might spell doom not only for her expedition, but for the entire world…

Exiles of Kho is now available in the Kindle store.

SFcrowsnest on GODS OF OPAR

Sven Scheurer has reviewed Gods of Opar: Tales of Lost Khokarsa over at SFcrowsnest. Here’s a snippet:

Gods Of Opar: Tales Of Lost Khokarsa’ is pulp fantasy in the best sense of the words. A fast-paced entertaining adventure literature in the tradition of Edgar Rice Burroughs and Henry Rider Haggard. Christopher Paul Carey was obviously the right choice for finishing Farmer’s outline and writing the third novel, at least I wouldn’t have noticed the change in authors. The cycles’ African setting distinguishes it from its more traditional northern European brethren. This exotic ambience combined with vivid descriptions of the localities, people and beasts make the novels interesting and fun to read. Despite two of the books being written over thirty years ago, they actually show no sign of their age. A must read for every fan of pulp literature and for all readers interested in fantasy with a slight twist.

Read the complete review here.

PulpFest/FarmerCon VII Schedule

I’m excited to be a guest at PulpFest/FarmerCon VII in Columbus, OH next week, where Meteor House will be launching my latest book, Exiles of Kho, a standalone novella set in Philip José Farmer’s Khokarsa. I expect to be hanging out much of the time at the Meteor House table in the Dealers’ Room, and my convention schedule is as follows:

Friday, August 10:

11:00 AMExiles of Kho Book Launch – author Christopher Paul Carey will be signing the limited edition release of his book

1:00 PMThe New Fictioneers – Christopher Paul Carey will read from his novel co-authored with Philip José Farmer, The Song of Kwasin, part of the Gods of Opar: Tales of Lost Khokarsa omnibus, forthcoming from Subterranean Press, as well as an excerpt from his new novella, Exiles of Kho.

7:00 PMLord Tyger, Time’s Last Gift, and the Gods of Opar – our FarmerCon VII panelists discuss a sampling of the Burroughs and Verne-inspired works of Philip José Farmer. Moderated by Paul Spiteri, editor of Pearls from Peoria and featuring authors Win Scott Eckert and Christopher Paul Carey.

The British Fantasy Society on Gods of Opar

David Brzeski has reviewed Gods of Opar: Tales of Lost Khokarsa for the British Fantasy Society website. Here’s an excerpt:

Indeed, one of the strengths of the entire series is that there are no clearly delineated good and evil sides. Many of the characters united in fighting the mad king Minruth actively despise each other. Farmer and Carey tell a realistically complex tale of a religious war in which whichever side ultimately wins, countless people lose and their world is left devastated.

Check out the review here.

Subterranean Press down to last 50 copies of Gods of Opar

From the News/Recent Releases sidebar of the newly redesigned Subterranean Press website:

We’re already down to our last fifty copies of Gods of Opar, which collects two classic novels by Philip Jose Farmer, and a third completed from Farmer’s notes by Christopher Paul Carey. At 576 pages, it’s also a bargain, as Publishers Weekly noted: “Fans of Farmer’s original series will appreciate this repackaging and enjoy the finale, both in tone and because of the closure it provides. Likewise, fans of Burroughs, H. Rider Haggard, and other pulp authors will find the entire collection an accessible and enjoyable throwback.”

Trade Hardcover: $45